Pylesville, take 2

On Sunday, February 2nd, PJ, Dan and myself are hoping to retrace our route out of town and continue on the Pylesville Winter Warmer successfully this time. Hopefully with better weather and more riding buddies.

The three of us, after much consideration, decided to ride on Jan 5th. Sleet and rain were predicted, but the temps were above freezing at Lake Montebello showing no signs of icing. We headed north on Old Harford rd with some hesitation, but hoping for fair riding. The aptly named Satyr Hill road is what did us, or rather, me, in. It’s hard to be on a bicycle and not be taken over by the fun of it. As I rolled down Satyr Hill, several things came together: the level of fun increased as my level of worry decreased. Speed went up and, as I got into the shade of the woods, the temps went down. I’ll spare you the details of what happened next, but suffice it to say, I have a large purple bruise on my left cheek (the lower one). Thankfully, nothing, including the bike, was broken. PJ and I rode back to the start and Dan caught a ride home.

PJ's bike covered in frozen  rain

PJ’s studded-tire Surly Cross Check covered in frozen rain

I don’t believe our decision to ride was a bad one. My issue was a simple one: I lost concentration on the conditions around me, which is a lesson that applies to every bike ride regardless of weather. I will definitely have it in mind when we meet again for Pylesville Winter Warmer ‘Take 2′ on February 2nd.

Here are the details again:
Date/Time: Sunday, February 2nd. 7:15AM meet up, 7:30AM push off.
Start: Lake Montebello MAP (south corner by parking lot)
Route Map and GPS files: PYLESVILLE
Cue Sheet: CUE

About randoramble

long distance bike rider
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pylesville, take 2

  1. Pingback: Pylesville Winter Shortie | bikesncoffee

  2. Bill says:

    Excellent ride yesterday! Way more exciting than the game. Good riding with everyone.

  3. Isaias says:

    Apropos having take 2 on Groundhog Day!

  4. randoramble says:

    Thanks for the kind words, all. Rubber (with carbide) side down. -B

  5. Steve says:

    Good to see you’re safe. I’m always surprised at just how little notice my bike gives me that it is about to slip. One second, all is well; the next second, I’m on the ground in pain.

    Nice hammered fenders, btw!

  6. bikesncoffee says:

    Ken is correct. Glad you’re ok and looking forward to better weather in February. -dave2

  7. Ken says:

    Bob
    I would have come and rescued you with a cold beer and smile as you were very close to my house. Myself and Dave 2 plan on joining you for take 2.

  8. Bob – glad you were not injured. I hope to be on the “take 2.”

Leave a Reply

