On Again/Off Again wrap

… or, “I forgot how damn hard this ride is”

biker gang on their way to York, PA

biker gang on their way to York, PA

Many years ago, when I designed the early version of On Again Off Again, the mapping software I used made a poor calculation of 5,000 feet of climbing. Easy, right? Except that half of the miles (those on the trail) have very few feet of climb AND the more accurate calculations are closer to 7,000 feet overall. Ugh is right.

I’m glad I forgot how damn hard this route is. It’s a great ride and definitely worth the struggle. Many of our starters finished the route as cued and many didn’t, but it seemed that everyone made it into a ride they could enjoy. There are so many crossover points that allow one to decide whether to put in 10 more miles of incredible climbing or 10 more miles of bouncy trail. Slower riders can leapfrog ahead of those faster. Halfway through the day, I couldn’t tell who was in front of me and who was behind.

The stunningly beautiful landscape, the thankfully comfortable weather and all the friendly camaraderie will be kept tightly in my memory. And, like I did last year, I’m hoping I’ll forget all about the pain.

Lots of pics from the day: https://www.flickr.com/photos/27976837@N00/sets/72157644026919604/
Great write-up from Dave at bikesNcoffee

About randoramble

long distance bike rider
This entry was posted in On Again Off Again and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On Again/Off Again wrap

  1. Tom J Fedewa says:

    Great day! The area is so scenic up and down the steams. I like the on and off concept. Adds diversity. Thanks, Bob!!!

  2. PJD says:

    I love this route. I got distracted more than once gawking at the scenery, but the never ending climbs brought me back into to focus. Completely exhausted at the end of it.

  3. Max says:

    Great write-up (yours, too, Dave) and I loved the pics on Flickr! I used to live in Sparks, so I know what a hella hard ride this is. (I’ve been up a lot of those hills, but never *all* of them on one ride!) :-)

    — Max

Leave a Reply

