The 4 Reservoirs Tour

Originally posted by Isaias ODaniell from his blog here: http://bimactive.com/ba/journal/

This ride was led Bob Wagner starting from the Baltimore Conservatory. I started the ride from my front porch.

Following are the ride reports of Barry, and me, respectively:


============ Barry ============

The res ride was good! GB, NR, Tim, Janet and myself showed up at the ride start, Carl joined us north of Ellicott City. I had mechanical problem somewhere after mile 10 (rear derailleur hit the spokes and got bent) which took me a bit of time to fix. So I went into warp drive (since the bike route is curved like time and space I was able to exceed the speed of light using warp technology and caught up with the group at the rest stop at mile 78. The hip is still not recovered enough to keep up with these guys but I had fun.

============ Isaias ============

124 miles–running on fumes by the time I got home. Not bad considering BiM reported over 10,000 of climbing and I haven’t been doing much climbing at all riding in Delaware so much.

Also, I didn’t have any breakfast, a danish on Route 91, then I missed the turn for Wally’s to stop for lunch, riding the entire Spooks Hill Rd. I sent a text message to Bob to let him know. It was too late to go back since I was already at Armacost Rd by the time I sent it. It wasn’t until Jacksonville before I had something to eat. I was out of fluids by then, too.

Instead of going all of the way back to the Baltimore Conservatory, at Joppa Rd I took a left heading to Towson–yet another set of climbs and I was experiencing some cramping. It was a very slow grind but I made it. From there I followed by usual route home from work starting from Putty Hill Rd.

Thanks, Bob! It was torturous by the end and I won’t want to do it again anytime soon. I’ll be driving in to work tomorrow. I need a “V”cation (said Arnold in Terminator 2).

Activity

Route: Elev. Avg: 434 ft
Location: Essex, MD, Elev. Gain: +3 ft
Date: 08/23/09 Up/Downhill: [+10429/-10426]
Time: 04:15 PM Difficulty: 5.0 / 5.0
 
Weather: Partly Cloudy
  82 F temp; 77% humidity
  88 F heat index; winds CALM calm mph

Performance

Distance: 123.94 miles
Time: 9:23:08
Speed: 13.2 mph
Pace: 4′ 33 /mi
Calories: 5795

Map

About randoramble

long distance bike rider
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

