Ride Preview: In Search of Liberty

Picture_1

The next BBC Rando Ramble, “In Search of Liberty” (102 miles) is this Sunday, March 21st.

I commuted to work through the “nor’easter” this morning and in spite of smart dressing, I got quite wet. I’m hoping that the clouds are shedding all this water and will be empty by next sunday for our ride.

It begins from The Conservatory at the MD Zoo in Baltimore.
googlemaps location here: http://tinyurl.com/ylll45

March 21st, 2010. Meet up at 7:50AM and push off at 8:10

The ride start has ample safe street parking. There are bathrooms about a 1/4 mile away on the zoo property- I can show you where.
I like to try to get to the ride start without a car. Easy for me to say on this one since I live 2 miles away! However, the start is easily accessible from the Baltimore Light Rail system and the Baltimore Metro. Or, ride to the start. If you are interested in getting to the start via mass transit, just email me randoramble@gmail.com and I’ll tell you how.

As you can see from the map above, this ride makes a big loop to the northwest through Carroll and Frederick counties. The ride start will get us out of the city and onto scenic Franklinville rd in less than 20 minutes. We’ve been having pretty mild temps recently, but beware of ice on Franklinville early in the morning. I saw a bit when I gave this a check out ride last monday. We get out into the county via Dogwood rd. If you’re not warmed up by this point Dogwood hill at an initial 20% grade will sure wake up your heart and lungs. The hill is a blind one just after the stream bridge at Hollofield rd. Be ready for it.

This hill will certainly be the hardest of the ride, but be warned, the first 1/3 of this ride is full of short sharp climbs. As we begin to get close to historic Libertytown, our westernmost point, the hills round off becoming much more gentle. The route is still climbing up until our lunch stop in New Windsor. Soon after lunch, though you will notice our descent back toward Carroll and Baltimore counties.

This is a very pretty ride, jam-packed with farmland, historic homes, and dark wooded areas. There are rest stops at the 27 and 80 mile points and lunch is at 57 miles. There is also a short option going 79 miles. It does not go to our lunch stop. It’s that time of year to be ready for all kinds of weather. Dress smart. I started my checkout ride last monday in nearly freezing temps and by late afternoon I had most of my cold weather clothes in my bag.

If you have any questions about this ride or the BBC’s series of long distance Rando Rambles do not hesitate to email me OR comment here.
Hope to see you on sunday. I’ll bring cuesheets.

 

bikely route map here: http://www.bikely.com/maps/bike-path/In-Search-of-Liberty-102-miles

more pictures from the check-out ride here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/27976837@N00/sets/72157623500968591/

About randoramble

long distance bike rider
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

