Next Ride: The Pancake Interception. Nov. 14th

Baltimore to Ocean City, MD

I am posting this embarrassing pic of me from July because I look like an idiot. 

I rode a check-out ride to Union Bridge, MD last Monday and the ride was beautiful, but I had forgotten to take my camera. When I got home from the ride, I told Teresa about the ride. I described wandering Frederick county valleys, all aglow with golden-orange autumn leaves settling down onto gently meandering creeks, rolling through stone fenced farm land, smiling and waving at curious goats, tired cows and suspicious horses, spying turtles sitting on logs and deer vanishing into the brush and passing antebellum homes, handsomely constructed of brick and iron. It was a great ride. 

She listened and then asked if I had gotten any pictures. “No,” I said sadly. “I forgot my camera”. Her eyes reflected back a little bit of suspicion. Damn. 

The Pancake Interception is inspired by the Baltimore Bicycling Club ride leaving the same day from a different location. We will start from the Mt. Washington Starbucks in Baltimore City. The start has easy parking and easy access via Light Rail, but you should ride your bike to the start anyway. Our goal is to get to the Union Bridge Fire House, 44 miles away before they quit serving pancakes at 12 noon. I had no problem getting up there in 3 hours during my check-out ride and that was on a Monday with traffic in the city. There are a couple convenience stores we could stop at on the way up if necessary, but I think we should be able to roll the whole way up without much more than a very quick stop. 

Here’s the description from the Union Bridge Fire House: All You Can Eat breakfast includes; Pancakes, French Toast, ‘Out-of-the-Shell’ Scrambled Eggs, Sausage, Sausage Gravy, Hominy, Puddin’, Potatoes, Biscuits, Muffins, Fruit and Orange Juice, Tea and Coffee. 7AM-12PM. $7. Cash Only. 

After brunch, we’ll head northeast along some of the nicest back roads of Carroll County. We cross the border into PA (twice), then drop down onto Hanover Pike and the smooth wide-shouldered Rt.30 bypass for much of the ride back into town. The worst of the hills are here at the end of the ride coming back through Upperco and Worthington. Route is here: http://www.bikely.com/maps/bike-path/468931  I will post the official cuesheets soon. 

THE IMPORTANT DETAILS:
• Ride starts Sunday, Nov. 14th at 7:30AM (NOTE EARLY START TIME)
• We start from here MT. Washington Starbucks  (park furthest away from stores in parking lot)
• This is an average difficulty ride for this area- about 6K feet of climbing in mostly rolling terrain.  
• There will be 2 cue sheets available- one that uses several roads that are unpaved (think NCR trail) and one with all paved roads. 
• I ride these rides as “no drop” rides at approximately 15mph. 
• You can get an 88 mile short version by reversing the route after brunch
• BRING LIGHTS- we have until 5PM to finish in the sunlight. 
• Read my Rando Notes 

Please contact me if you have any questions or concerns about the ride.   -Bob

 

About randoramble

long distance bike rider
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Next Ride: The Pancake Interception. Nov. 14th

  1. Rod Bruckdorfer says:

    Sorry, we were out of town that weekend.  I also have a Lone Peak handlebar bag.  It's an excellent buy for the money and very functional.  The map case could be bigger, but all in all a nice bag.  Interesting, I also order my bag from Wayne at the Touring Store – great guy. Rod

  2. The Rando Ramble says:

    Rod, We missed having you along during the Point to Point ride. That one’s nice and flat and has a lot of breaks. My bar bag is a Lone Peak http://www.thetouringstore.com/LONE%20PEAK/LP%20H-bar%20Packs/H100%20H-BAR%20

  3. Rod Bruckdorfer says:

    Bob, I like the picture. Great looking handlebar bag. What brand and model?? You may have heard, we purchased a tandem.Ride Safe, Ride Strong,Rod

Leave a Reply

