Getting Dirty

7587629850_96638a96ac_b

 

Hope y’all are having a great summer. I’m headed off to the Eastern Shore next week. The ’64 Nova wagon will be hauling two bikes inside, and a sailboat on top. I can’t wait to get away.

I won’t be offering any “true” Rambles for September or October. Instead, I’m planning on riding a couple of gravel grinders- hilly, dirt road rides best on a wide tire road bike. Shoot me an email if you’re interested in joining up on either of these. We’d love to have you.

On September 29th, I will be riding the Old Roads ride, launching from Glen Rock, PA. This is about 70 miles through York and Baltimore counties. It is unsupported, very hilly and will be my test ride for …

The Grand Fondue. On October 20th, the Bike Doctor will be running this inexpensive dirt road ride out of Frederick. It, too is VERY hilly. The good news is that you get food and drink on this ride. General info is here: Grand Fondue and the sign up is HERE. This ride does have a cap at 250, so you should sign up soon.

After climbing through these two I’ll definitely be ready to get back to the traditional Rambles. There are many routes I haven’t scheduled in a while that I’m itching to hit up again like Good Craic and the Pylesville Winter Warmer, maybe even On Again, Off Again if I’m not tired of the dirt. Good riding to you all and please stay in touch.

-Bob

About randoramble

long distance bike rider
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Getting Dirty

  1. randoramble says:

    Here’s the scoop on the Old Roads gravel grinder: I’ve spun the ride around and we are starting from Manchester, MD @Brodbeck rd. We will be lunching in Glen Rock. I am thinking a 9AM start time would be nice. This route is not easy to shortcut by cutting off miles, instead I’ve created a shorter version that takes mostly the same roads, but some different. The long version is 74miles and 7400ft. of climb (http://ridewithgps.com/routes/3395700), the short is 54miles and 5200ft. of climb (http://ridewithgps.com/routes/3395994). The routes are final, but I am still working on the cuesheets.

  2. Charlie says:

    Wish I could ride those roads again. Alas I am working the TdP. Enjoy!

  3. Tom J Fedewa says:

    I’ve now got a bike that can hit those side roads. Keep me posted.

  4. Aaron Mongeau says:

    Hi guys,

    OK so admittedly I have waaaaaaay to many things going on right now and the last thing I need to do is add in another element. But dang, this gravel thing sure tickles my fancy.

    Bob, can we drop links to these rides on our Team BBC Calender? Russel, same question? If both say yes. I think we should post a front page article that accompanies calender update.

    whacha think?

    -mojo

  5. Lisa says:

    Looking for some Hill Climb Club this winter.

    • randoramble says:

      Lisa, I plan on firing up the hill climb club and montebello sprints right after the first of the year. And, I’m going weekly this time, alternating events. BTW I might contact you in a couple months to try out another hill climb route- I need some critical opinions.

Leave a Reply

