Winter Weather Woes

This Sunday is our scheduled Ramble ride. I’d really like the chance to ride up to Union Bridge for pancakes at the firehouse, but the lingering winter has beaten some of the optimism out of me. Nonetheless, I wanted to communicate my thoughts and plans.

The Union Bridge ride is a very fun route, full of great views and unpaved roads. I’d rather not ride the route when the roads are still in iffy condition. It would just ruin the fun. In the next 48hrs I will work on a variation of the route that should be safer, but still scenic. That would be one option.

There is still a lot of nasty weather yet to arrive between now and Sunday so, I’m considering using “To Frederick, On Frederick” as a second option. The road conditions on Frederick are much easier to predict, and this is an easy ride to short cut.

I will post a decision as soon as I can, BUT I am planning on one of those two routes.
And by the way, we had a very nice truncated ride last month up to Bel Air. Here’s some pics:

your's truly with new Rambler, Vinnie

your’s truly with new Rambler, Vinnie

The SOMA Smoothie on Bottom rd.

The SOMA Smoothie on Bottom rd.

scenic Bottom rd.

scenic Bottom rd.

Dan crossing Bottom rd. bridge

Dan crossing Bottom rd. bridge

ah, Pancakes.

ah, Pancakes.

bike pile at Bob Evans

bike pile at Bob Evans

About randoramble

long distance bike rider
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Winter Weather Woes

  1. bikesncoffee says:

    Hey Kolo, don’t want to Hijack Bob’s blog, but short answer, busy. I’ll get back to it soon.

  2. Kolo Jezdec says:

    How come no posts on bikesncoffee recently?

  3. bikesncoffee says:

    My vote would be for frederick. If you modified pancake you’d be missing the most beautiful parts. rather save that for a month we can ride it in its entirety.

Leave a Reply

