Here we go again: the Monument to Monument Ride

NOTE: there have been some scheduling changes to the ride this Sunday. see the newest post: M2M’s so nice, I decided to schedule it twice.  -Bob

This year’s M2M ride will be on Sunday, May 3rd.

100+ riders last year rolled out of Charm City. Wow!

100+ riders rolled out of Charm City last year. Amazing!

M2M is a 97 mile round-trip single day ride from Baltimore to Washington on lightly trafficked roads. We keep it slow and steady, enjoying the company of fellow riders and the excitement of arriving in another city by bike.

  • Date/Time: Sunday, May 3rd, 2015. Meet at 7:45AM. Leave PROMPTLY at 8:10AM
  • Start Location: Baltimore Washington Monument
  • Map/GPS: M2M Map/GPS  (click “export” in upper right for GPS)
  • Cue Sheets: M2M CueSheet
  • Cost:  None. Bring $ for lunch and snacks at local businesses
  • Assistance/Sag:  None. (except help from fellow riders)
  • YOU RIDE AT YOUR OWN RISK

WHAT’S THE RIDE LIKE? M2M is a little of everything. There will be fast and slow riders, skinny and fat tire bikes, racers and bike party people. Last year there were over 75 riders. We ride a steady average pace of about 13MPH. There are some hills, but none more strenuous than a long ride through Baltimore. The roads to DC are as safe as riding in Baltimore. Most of the route is surprisingly scenic and the DC trail system is very relaxing. We’ll stop 3 times: a break at the 25 mile point, a lunch at Union Station in DC and a break at the 75 mile point. I will bring cue sheets, but mostly you will be following ride leaders. The main reasons why riders are unable to finish M2M are: crashes due to inattention, not having the fitness and experience for riding a century, and bike mechanical breakdowns. Be prepared.  IMPORTANT! READ THIS BEFORE RIDING M2M IMG_1641_3

About randoramble

long distance bike rider
This entry was posted in Monument to Monument, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Here we go again: the Monument to Monument Ride

  1. Pingback: Monument to Monument 2015 | bikesncoffee

  2. Jeff Nesson says:

    I understand Bob’s decision. However, for those who want a third option, I will be leaving from the Lindale middle school parking lot on the BWI trail at Andover and Hammonds Ferry Rd to meet up with the group rather than leave my car in the city or ride thru. sometimes discretion is the better part of valor. I don’t expect any problems but this way, I can guarantee no problems.

  3. Tadams says:

    Where were the scheduling changes posted last evening? I’m probably looking right at them, but I am missing them. Thanks! It sounds like Sunday should be a beautiful day.

  4. tommy barse says:

    Will you have a gps file soon? I really enjoyed this last year and can’t wait for this one! Sadly my cues didn’t do very well. Thanks for the ride!

    • randoramble says:

      Tommy, this evening, I will be posting some scheduling changes to the ride this Sunday. Look for it. BTW: cue sheet and GPS links are up in the post above. Best. -Bob

  5. Jeff Nesson says:

    Any thought to moving start location due to protests?

    • randoramble says:

      Recent events are worrisome and and unfolding hourly. Personally, I’m just hoping to enjoy the ride as scheduled and as routed. Individually, we can decide whether that’s the right thing to do. -Bob

    • eallen42 says:

      Unless things improve I’m not sure about starting in Baltimore. Well more worried about the finish when tired and worn out and we’re all spread out

    • Jeff Nesson says:

      Apparently the flower mart and kinetic bike race have been canceled for the weekend. If we are not moving the official start, I suggest that there be an unofficial time and meet up to join the group. The easiest place is the school at corner of Andover and Hammonds Ferry (I forget the name of it). It is about 3 miles to the intersection of Race and Ridge Rd which is the Elkridge Furnace Inn water stop. http://www.mapquest.com/#b5df5b4547afc04e093c94b0 Many of us drive our cars to the start and I don’t think it is wise to be leaving cars all day in the city. The city is strongly discouraging large groups from gathering. It is probably 30-40 minutes from the Wash Monument to Race Rd. There are other office parks in the area but this way there is no issue with parking cars and worrying about towing. If anyone want to do this I suggest meeting at the school and 8:10 and leaving by 8:20 which will give us plenty of time to get to Race Road and pick up the group.
      Either way, that is what I plan to do, if others are interested.

    • randoramble says:

      Jeff, this evening, I will be posting some scheduling changes to the ride this Sunday. Look for it. BTW: cue sheet and GPS links are up in the post above. Best. -Bob

  6. Ezra says:

    Oh, also, Race Road between CocaCola drive and Hanover road has been closed for some time now. Not sure if it’s been opened yet, but I’ve just been going the half mile up to Hi-tech drive to bypass it.

  7. Ezra says:

    Do I just show up or do I need to sign up first? This ride will be fun, this is basically the exact way I ride to work. 🙂

    • randoramble says:

      Read all the details here on the blog. Print yourself a cue sheet (I’ll be putting links up by the end of the week) Show up and be ready to ride.

  8. Distantantennas says:

    A friend clued me into this and I’m definitely interested. I put in about 100mi a week at a good pace, but never more than 20-25 at a time. Am I asking for trouble?

    • randoramble says:

      Distantantennas,

      It’s a good question and a tough one for me to answer. There are a lot of people out there who could do this ride with very little distance training. I personally would not have attempted a century without riding at least one 65+ miler (too painful!). Keep in mind, this ride has been happening for 7 years now, and it’ll be around next year. Put your energy and excitement into training for a century later this fall. By next May you’ll be ready to kill M2M -Bob

  9. Tom Moore says:

    Bob:
    You might want to try National Business PKY south of MD 175 (Jessup Rd) instead of Brock Bridge. Nice new pavement, misses the bad RR tracks on Brock Bridge.

    • randoramble says:

      Yes. That’s the way we go now. The downside is missing the scenic prison, the upside is eliminating those deadly RR trx near the dump. Thanks, Tom. Hope to see you there.

  10. Carl says:

    Bummer, I will miss the M2M this year. Tue. 4/21 I’ll be flying out to San Diego, where I will re-assemble my bike, & attempt to pedal it all the way across the U.S.A., to the shores of Rehoboth Beach Del. :-O

  11. Kwesi Walker says:

    This will be my first Century…. CAN’T WAIT!

  12. Jeff Nesson says:

    looking forward again. Went down last weekend. there are 3 barricades on race rd before coca cola dr. You need to dismount bike to pass but you do not have to turn around. There was a fair amount of glass on the side of the road on Jessup Rd. Just mentioning that because in a crowd easy to miss.

  13. randoramble says:

    Ride for the Feast Riders, my apologies. I realize that this coincides with your return on Sunday. I wasn’t able to put M2M on another date. Bonne Route to you all! -Bob

Leave a comment