Up & Over, Around, Across and back Home

July’s ride is a big one: The Northern Chesapeake Circumnavigation, 180 miles.

Screen shot 2016-06-15 at 10.16.17 PM

Did you ride Lunch in Leesburg last year? This route will be 25 miles longer, but have half as much climbing. Like Leesburg this route has two river crossings: the Hatem RT40 bridge and a car shuttle. And, like Leesburg I don’t know what to expect.

This is what I do know: The route is good– I’ve given it lots of ride check out. Early on there will be a lot of miles on busy roads with wide shoulders (safe but annoying). The Hatem bridge should be a fun crossing, BUT they’re charging $8/bike to cross (sheesh!). The car shuttle across to Annapolis will also cost you and add some complication.

Like all the Ramble rides, you need to understand the risk and be self supported. If you are thinking of riding, PLEASE contact me.

DETAILS:
Northern Chesapeake Circumnavigation: 180 mi., 4900ft.
Date/Time: Sunday July 3rd, 5:00AM start (yes, that says 5AM)
Start: TBD (in Baltimore)
Route Map (click EXPORT for GPS files): ROUTEMAP (preliminary)
Cue Sheet (print one, or ask me to bring an extra): Coming Soon

About randoramble

long distance bike rider
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Up & Over, Around, Across and back Home

  1. Geoff Doyle says:

    •Bicyclists will pay the $8 eastbound toll with cash or an EZPass … sweet, I have the Hatem Bridge plan …$20 unlimited crossing

  2. Bob, sent you an email. I won’t be able to ride with you after all. I want to leave my place at the same time you’ll be leaving and I’m not paying $8 to go over that stupid bridge. I’m taking the Conowingo as usual, riding to Rising Sun, Fair Hill and into to Newark, DE on my way to OCMD. Safe riding to all. Hope the weather cooperates, but I’m going even of it doesn’t.

    • Ken says:

      Darn, was looking forward to riding with you. I got an ezpass only $6. Which I will gladly pay for you.
      Is the route 1 an extra hour or so? We may see you anyway.

    • Thanks for the offer, Ken, but I need the miles since I’m currently the Maryland state leader for the National Bike Challenge.

  3. Isaias says:

    Bob, I’ve had second thoughts. It’s necessary for me to leave earlier, therefore I’m not going to be able to meet up with the bunch Sunday for part of the ride.

    Stay safe. Hoping the weather cooperates for both of us.

    /

  4. mtbpozz says:

    I have been wanting to make one of your rides for a while and the schedule finally permits it for this one. Great looking route. Looking forward to riding with y’all.

  5. Ken Furman says:

    I am in, I will have a ez pass only $6.00

  6. Kolo Jezdec says:

    This is from the BikeMaryland website regarding groups crossing the Hatem Bridge:

    Groups that want to Pre Pay Tolls
    The group leaders may contact the Hatem Bridge Toll Manager, Patricia Keeton at 410-537-1106 or via email, pkeeton@mdta.state.md.us
    Please contact her at least a week prior to the event as prepayment will be required prior to passage. She will also be able to inform the group leader which lane will be dedicated to the groups passage. Please provide the count and times for the events.

  7. Barbara Gillespie says:

    Hi, I live in Delaware near the Rt. 9 run so I have a few comments. First the bridge crossing. Wasn’t sure if you re aware of restricted crossings. See note below. When you get to mile 87.4 might I suggest turn right, immediately after the bridge overhead Wiley market on right. There is food service, a place to sit inside if needed, bathrooms inside, and lock up bikes to the rail fence near front door. Much better then Valero. The subs are HUGH!!! Lots of cold drinks snacks, fruits, etc See link: http://www.willeyfarmsde.com/ It would be nice to catch the group near Delaware City Summit bridge and ride a while. Delaware city – Firehall will give you water and restrooms Right side coming into town La Matesina Pizza n Pasta. Really good chicken cheese steaks, cheese steak sandwiches. Bathroom stop. 5 Clinton Street, Delaware City Anyway. Enjoy the ride and write back if you have any questions. Barbara A. Gillespie

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  8. randoramble says:

    Geez, y’all. I was thinking that nobody would want to do this route. If the group is large enough at the Hatem Bridge, maybe we just storm it without paying.

  9. randomikew says:

    Bob:

    I would like to do this and putting it on my calendar. Sundays are usually tough for me though but I will confirm as we get closer.

    Mike Wali

    Sent from my mobile

    >

  10. chehale says:

    Sounds like a great trip. Thinking of / Planning on joining you.

  11. Isaias says:

    Ok, I sent you a response from one of th eones you sent me via GMAIL.

  12. Isaias says:

    Wow! I should be getting your email. Are you sending it to my GMAIL or one of my YAHOO email addresses?

  13. Dang! Riding right past my street! I’m leaving for OCMD that morning. BTW, the Hatem Bridge was suppose to be open to bicycles as of July 1, 2016. You should be able to ride across it. Ate you saying that an $8 toll is being charged?

    • randoramble says:

      Dude!, I would love to ride with you. I sent you a couple emails recently. I’m guessing you’re not checking. Shoot me an email when you can. -B

Leave a Reply

