Gettin’ back to it.

Next ride, Olde Roads, will be on Sunday, Nov. 13th.

The route is a rough, hilly, beautiful tour of unpaved roadways above and below the Mason Dixon. It’s 75mi. and hilly. We’ll climb nearly 100ft. per mile on at times, loose rocky surfaces. The Rambles always have a easy pace, but you’ll still need the stamina to haul yourself up those grades. I haven’t ridden over 20 miles in 3 months, so I’ll be slow and easy on this one. Come and keep me company. Start is in Manchester, MD. Lunch is in Glen Rock, PA at Mignano Bros.

You’ll definitely want a bike with minimum width of 32mm tires and LOW gearing for climbs. Be sure everything on the bike is tight or it’ll rattle loose on this route. Ask questions if you’ve got ’em.

DETAILS:

  • Olde Roads 74 mi., 7400ft.
  • Date/Time: Sunday, November 13th. 8:15AM meet-up. 8:30 exit
  • Start: North Carroll Plaza in Manchester STARTMAP
  • Route Map (click EXPORT for GPS files): ROUTEMAP
  • Cue Sheet (print one, or ask me to bring an extra): CUESHEET

_

And now for something completely different– the ride report from a dream I had a while back:

I am leading a ride that is going thru some industrial city. I don’t know where, but there is rough concrete and old dilapidated buildings. After a few miles of riding I notice up ahead that riders are stopped at a railroad track. When I get there I see that there’s no more roadway, no trail- just loose rocks. I realize there must be something really wrong with my cue sheet, so I start fumbling for maps, trying to figure out where to go. Soon, the other riders get impatient and start walking their bikes along the tracks. I try to keep up behind them, still looking at paperwork and walking with difficulty on the rocks. We step up onto a railway platform. A train pulls up. Without hesitation, the group gets on the train like it was next on the cuesheet. I guess it could happen on one of my rides, right?  I’m really confused at this point, but quickly shove my way onto the train having no idea where it, or the ride, is going.

The train is crowded and chaotic. I can barely see the other riders. I’m still fumbling with maps and my bike, but now I’ve got gloves and hats, extra helmets, and other accessories I don’t even remember bringing. My stuff is falling all over the place and I’m bumping into commuters with my bike. I hook my bike to a railing. The train pulls up to a stop and riders begin getting off. What?! How do they know where they’re going? I better get off before the door closes.

I try to gather up my stuff but its too much to hold in my hands. The bike is tangled up in the railing. When I pull on the bike, the bars break off at the stem. Dropping gloves and papers and a broken bike, I get to the door just as it closes. All the other riders are on the platform with their bikes. I see them outside the window yelling at me to get off, but the train rolls forward. I get out at the next stop alone with a broken bike and half of my stuff.  

4083859774_d1599c471e_o

See ya on the 13th. 🙂

 

 

 

About randoramble

long distance bike rider
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Gettin’ back to it.

  1. Kathleen says:

    Thanks for the great ride, Bob. This was a fun route!

  2. bikesncoffee says:

    I will be there, most likely with Ken to keep you company when you ‘bonk’. Looking forward to falling leaves & gravel!

  3. Kathleen says:

    This looks awesome. Any water stops, or do we need to carry enough water/nutrition from the start?

    • randoramble says:

      Kathleen, sit-down lunch is in Glen Rock, PA at Mignano Bros. at about the halfway point and there’s lots of watering holes at the start location. You’ll need enough water to get you through the 35 miles before and after. This ride is great fun, hope you can make it. -Bob

    • Kathleen says:

      Thanks for the info. I definitely plan on being there!

  4. dale warfel says:

    glad you’re back!

  5. Kolo Jezdec says:

    Apparently the route map is not public? This message appears when clicking on the link: THE ROUTE YOU ARE TRYING TO VIEW IS NOT PUBLIC.

  6. Mike H says:

    Sorry to miss the Olde Roads ride. I hope there are fewer troubles than last year, although I did enjoy my long walk. I have a race in Rosaryville on the 12th and am traveling on the 13th. Barring unexpected travel, I will be back in the saddle in December. Tough year for Rambles.

    • randoramble says:

      I feel like we should decorate a mile-marker at the point in the ride when your Salsa committed suicide. Too bad you’re not available to pick me up when I bonk on this ride. Best.

Leave a Reply

