Pics from M2M 2018

A big THANK YOU to all of this year’s Monument to Monument riders. I had a wonderful ride.

I heard several stories of riders who had been planning on riding M2M for a while. Yesterday was their day. Well done. Also, I loved hearing stories of those who’ve ridden the route on a different day. No need to wait for next year. Download the cue, grab your biking buds, and ride.

ciao       -Bob

(click pics to enlarge)

 

About randoramble

long distance bike rider
This entry was posted in a_wrap, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pics from M2M 2018

  1. Any plans yet for 2019 M2M ride?

  2. Robin Jacobs says:

    Hi! I am trying to organize a similar ride (but one-way) to the Monument Quilt on June 1 and wondering if you’d be interested in helping to organize or could just get in touch so I can learn more about what I can expect on the route? Thanks for posting the cue sheet route!

  3. Pierre says:

    Bob, Many Thanks for a Job Well done!!

  4. Christina George says:

    I really appreciate the opportunity to ride and the fact that this is totally unpaid and on a volunteer basis, but I was really sad to be dropped at Union since I couldn’t find anyone at lunch. I had been wanting to ride back but apparently missed the group wandering around trying to find anyone I recognized. Maybe an absolute deadline time of “we’ll leave by X….” would be useful if you are willing to do it, or a phone number to text or something. I realize that its probably my own fault for coming on my own, but the whole reason why I wanted to do this ride as part of a group is so that I wouldn’t be alone and feel a lot safer on the roads by myself. A cue sheet doesn’t really help with that when everyone is already gone.

    • randoramble says:

      Christina (blue shirt?), I got to Union sta. (@noon-ish), and was amazed to see not a single rider at the station. Where was everyone??!! We stayed at the station, eating lunch for 30 min. Then walked over to a neighborhood bar for a 10th Anniversary beer. When we got back to the station, we caught a group who were getting on the MARC to go home. It was strange this year. Usually there’s a 50-bike pile up at lunch. I would be weirded out too if I left with a big group and stood there alone at lunch. I’m sure at that point, there were many riders ahead of you, and many behind- you just got caught in a pocket. I believe I was the last rider to get back to Baltimore (@6-ish). I wish you could have ridden back with the group I was in. we bumped into many other riders during the route back. Nonetheless, I hope the day was a worthwhile adventure. Kudos for your gutsy effort. Next year will be different.

  5. Awesome ride, Bob! Thanks for making it happen.

  6. Field, Peder Michael says:

    #>^*&$!!! spell check. “Defacto” not defectors!
    Sorry.

  7. Field, Peder Michael says:

    Hey Bob,
    Thanks from all of us for pulling together such a great ride and being defectors den mother to all. You are terrific and it’s a pleasure to get to know you.
    Mike Field

Leave a comment